Mothering Sunday: buttons and blooms

Inspired by all the Fashion Week talk of new collections and seasonal trends, I decided to do something new this month. I’m releasing my own ‘capsule collection’ for Mother’s Day, or rather, for Mothering Sunday.

Mothering Sunday vs Mother’s Day vs Mothers’ Day is on the list of things-which-confused-me-as-a-child-and-still-do-a-bit, so for clarity, Mothering Sunday or Mothers’ Day is the UK holiday celebrating all things mum. It falls on the 4th Sunday of Lent and has been going on and off since the 16th century. Mother’s Day (as in, the day to celebrate your one mother and definitely no other horrible old mothers – the founder was very clear on that) is an early 20th century creation, and is celebrated in the USA in May.

I’m working my collection around the UK date partly because all of my customers so far have been UK-based, as am I, but also because ‘Mothering Sunday’ as a phrase just tickles me. Imagine the scene: ‘Where you going?’ ‘Oh, I’m just off to go a-mothering.’ To go a-mothering could mask any number of sins…

So, my Mothering Sunday collection has three new designs (I did tell you it was capsule!), all necklaces, and here they are:

img_20170227_132048112

Quite a few of my designs take sewing or vintage clothing as an inspiration, and the idea for my Mothering Sunday collection is no different. Since reading The Button Box: Lifting The Lid On Women’s Lives by Lynn Knight, I’ve become increasingly interested in the importance and application of seemingly insignificant found objects like buttons in the transmission of stories, skills and relationships, and it was with my brain going along those lines that I started designing this new collection.

This design is from the cast of a vintage button from my own mum’s button box, which I used to sort through for hours at a time. My mum is also the one who taught me to sew, knit and quilt, all of which she does beautifully and pretty much constantly, so she’s a fairly significant design influence all round. Particularly apt for this collection, I think.

Mums who might like this design include: The Crafter, The Historian, The Vintage Fan, The Understated Mum.*

img_20170227_132544957

Design number two is a precious-metal take on giving your mum flowers for Mothers’ Day. After casting it from part of another mum-sourced vintage button, I filed and enhanced the design’s natural ridges to give a more lifelike appearance. I think it looks the most like a geranium, but if anyone has any strong botanical views on the type of flower it could be, let me know!

Mums who might like this design include: The Gardener, The Artist, The Elegant Mum, The Classic Mum.

dscn0754

The final design was actually a collaboration between my aunt and I for one of her best friends’ birthdays. I added a second row and hanging feather charm to my popular ammonite design, strung on an unusual hammered trace chain. This piece is a prime example of how designs can grow and evolve as part of the custom design process – I love it.

Mums who might like this design include: The Nature Lover, The Walker, The Traveller, The Dreamer.

All of the Mothering Sunday collection, along with my other pieces, can be found in my Etsy store.

 

*Obviously mums, like all other humans, are multifaceted, and I’m reducing them down to generalised types for comic effect and style shorthand.

Leave a Reply

